How article marketing helps authors like Bill Tallmon establish a web presence before their website goes live

Posted March 6th @ 6:54 pm by Roger C. ParkerPrint

bill-tallmon-google-res-fouArticle marketing, i.e., writing articles for distribution at sites like EzineArticles, is one of the easiest and most effective ways for authors to establish a web presence before their website goes live.

It is essential that authors establish an online presence as early as possible. This is especially true if you’re a first-time author. Article marketing makes it possible to establish a credible online presence in minimal time.

Why article marketing works
The first thing that agents and editors are likely to to do after receiving a query letter or proposal from you is to search your name and see what shows up. If nothing shows up, your query letter or proposal is unlikely to result in a positive response.

But, it’s an entirely different ball game if the agent’s or editor’s initial search of your name turns up several listings for recently-written articles you’ve written that are relative to your proposed book topic.

In addition, when you write your articles according to a plan, each article becomes the starting point of each of the chapters of your book, giving you a jumpstart on writing your book.

Basics of article marketing
Article marketing, taught by well-known marketing authorities like Jeff Herring, The Article Marketing Guy, offers authors numerous advantages, including:

  • No cost. Article marketing doesn’t cost anything, other than time.
  • Content availability. Chances are, your hard drive already contains dozens, perhaps hundreds, of articles, newsletters, presentations, speeches, tips, and blog posts that you can easily recycle as articles.
  • Online profile. Each article can link to an online profile that can use as your “sales page” until you create your ultimate website. You can use these profiles to describe your products and services. You can also include photographs and your contact information.

Choosing the right topics for article
Today, a search on the name of  Published & Profitable member Bill Tallmon, for example, shows how quickly EzineArticles turn into positive Google search results that create a foundation for future writing success.

At my suggestion, Bill began a series of Appreciations intended to highlight individuals and groups that have influenced his life. The growing list of his Appreciations offers solid proof of his commitment to his writing project, proof that can convince the right agent or editor to pay attention to his query letter or book proposal.


Invitation to learn more. All Published & Profitable friends and members are invited to attend a free teleseminar, Tuesday, March 10, at 11:00 AM, EST. Article marketing is one of the topics that Anthony Quinones, author of RePackaging Is Everything, will be discussing. Learn more about Tuesday’s teleseminar here.


1 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Search Engine Optimization For Google on March 10, 2009

2 Comments

  1. Bill Tallmon
    March 6, 2009

    Thanks Roger,
    Dr. Bill

  2. Marc at EzineArticles
    May 13, 2009

    Hi Roger,

    I’m interested in doing an author spotlight on you in the EzineArticles.com blog. Would you be willing to be spotlighted?

    Marc

Leave a comment

OpenID Login

Standard Login